Virginia Disability Appeals: Why the Record Matters

A Virginia employee develops a serious medical condition and stops working after years of paying for long-term disability insurance. Despite extensive treatment records, the insurance company denies benefits because its reviewing physician concludes that the employee remains capable of working. Under federal disability insurance law, the evidence submitted during an internal appeal often determines what arguments remain available in a subsequent lawsuit.

Understanding this distinction is essential because an insurance appeal is more than a request for reconsideration. For employer-sponsored plans governed by ERISA, it is a formal legal process with specific deadlines and evidentiary requirements.

ERISA Governs Most Employer-Sponsored Disability Plans

The Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 (ERISA) establishes federal standards for many employer-sponsored benefit plans, including long-term disability insurance. However, individually purchased policies generally fall outside ERISA and follow different insurance and contract laws.

The policy’s legal classification determines the procedures available after a denial. ERISA claims generally require completing the plan’s administrative review process before filing a lawsuit.

The Law Brigade’s discussion of long-term disability claims explains why policy interpretation and documentation matter. Employees need to examine the actual plan rather than relying exclusively on an employer’s benefits summary.

Disability Definitions Change During Coverage

Long-term disability policies frequently distinguish between an inability to perform one’s own occupation and an inability to perform other qualifying occupations. The definition sometimes changes after an initial benefit period, commonly 24 months.

For example, a surgeon with a hand injury might be unable to perform surgical procedures but remain capable of certain administrative responsibilities. Whether that ability disqualifies the surgeon depends on the policy’s contractual language.

Claimants consulting BenGlassLaw long-term disability lawyers receive assistance evaluating disability denials, insurance appeals, and ERISA litigation. The Fairfax-based firm represents disability insurance claimants throughout Virginia and nationwide.

A medical diagnosis does not automatically establish disability under an insurance contract. The evidence must connect functional limitations to the policy’s occupational requirements.

The 180-Day Appeal Deadline Is Critical

Under 29 CFR Section 2560.503-1, covered disability benefit plans must provide claimants at least 180 days after receiving an adverse benefit determination to file an administrative appeal.

The denial notice must explain the reasons for the decision and identify the relevant plan provisions. It must also describe the review procedures and applicable deadlines.

Missing the administrative appeal deadline risks preventing later judicial review. Claimants need to identify the actual deadline in their denial notice and preserve proof that their appeal was submitted on time.

The Claim File Reveals the Insurer’s Reasoning

ERISA regulations entitle claimants to reasonable access to relevant documents, records, and other information without charge. These materials frequently include medical reviews, internal correspondence, vocational assessments, and the evidence considered during the original determination.

The Law Brigade’s examination of strengthening disability claims explains why medical documentation and claim preparation are important.

Reviewing the complete claim file helps identify the evidence supporting the insurer’s decision. A denial based on a physician’s records review presents different questions from one relying on an occupational assessment or policy exclusion.

Medical Evidence Must Address Functional Limitations

Insurance disputes frequently concern what an individual remains physically or mentally capable of performing. Medical records describing symptoms are important, but functional assessments establish how those symptoms affect workplace responsibilities.

For example, a claimant experiencing chronic pain might need documentation explaining limitations involving concentration, sustained sitting, lifting, or maintaining a predictable work schedule.

The relationship between medical findings and occupational duties is central to disability eligibility. Treating physician opinions, diagnostic findings, and vocational evidence deserve coordinated examination.

Insurers Must Disclose New Appeal Evidence

Under Section 2560.503-1(h)(4), covered disability plans must provide claimants with new or additional evidence considered, relied upon, or generated during the appeal before issuing an adverse review decision. The information must arrive sufficiently early to permit a reasonable response.

The regulation establishes similar protections when the insurer introduces a new rationale for denying benefits.

An insurance company cannot ordinarily rely on undisclosed new appeal evidence without providing the required opportunity to respond. These procedural protections allow claimants to address unfavorable medical or vocational conclusions before the administrative process ends.

Appeal Decisions Have Their Own Deadlines

The U.S. Department of Labor’s claims guidance explains that covered disability appeals generally require a decision within 45 days after receipt. Special circumstances permit an additional 45 days when the plan provides the required advance notice.

These deadlines concern the insurer’s review obligations and are distinct from the claimant’s 180-day appeal period.

After administrative remedies are exhausted, Section 502(a)(1)(B) of ERISA permits qualifying lawsuits to recover benefits due under the plan. Courts frequently evaluate these disputes using the administrative record, subject to governing legal standards and limited exceptions.

The central consequence is that evidence omitted from the administrative appeal might be difficult to introduce during litigation. A complete, timely appeal establishes the factual record on which the disability benefits dispute will often be decided.

This article provides general legal information and is not individualized legal advice.