South Carolina SSDI Claims: Why Work Credits Matter

A Greenville employee stops working because of a serious medical condition and applies for Social Security Disability Insurance several years later. Medical records confirm significant physical limitations, but the Social Security Administration denies the application because the employee’s disability insurance coverage expired. Under federal law, having a qualifying disability does not automatically establish eligibility for SSDI benefits.

Understanding the relationship between employment history, work credits, and the date disability began is essential when evaluating these claims.

SSDI Eligibility Depends on Recent Work History

The Social Security Administration requires SSDI applicants to have sufficient work credits earned through employment covered by Social Security. Under 20 CFR Section 404.130, most workers age 31 and older must satisfy the 20/40 rule.

This generally means earning at least 20 credits during the 40 calendar quarters immediately preceding disability. Younger workers and individuals meeting certain blindness requirements receive different treatment.

In 2026, the SSA requires $1,890 in covered earnings for one work credit, with a maximum of four credits available annually. Accumulating 40 lifetime credits does not independently establish eligibility for SSDI when recent-work requirements remain unsatisfied.

The Date Last Insured Determines Eligibility

The date last insured (DLI) identifies when an applicant last satisfied Social Security’s disability insurance requirements. Under SSA Program Operations Manual DI 25501.320, disability generally must begin on or before this date for SSDI eligibility.

Individuals consulting social security disability lawyers in Greenville often need their employment histories and medical records reviewed together. Pilzer Klein handles SSDI applications, denied claims, and disability appeals throughout Greenville and surrounding South Carolina communities.

For example, someone whose insured status expired in December 2023 might receive a serious diagnosis in 2025. A later diagnosis does not automatically disqualify the claim, but the evidence must establish qualifying disability before the applicable coverage deadline.

Medical Records Must Establish When Disability Began

Medical evidence plays a critical role when an applicant’s insured status expired before the application was filed. Hospital records, diagnostic imaging, specialist evaluations, and treatment notes help establish when functional limitations became disabling.

Under 20 CFR Section 404.1520c, Social Security evaluates medical opinions using factors including supportability and consistency. A physician’s conclusion requires supporting evidence rather than an unsupported statement that the applicant cannot work.

The Law Brigade’s discussion of disability application documents explains the importance of organized medical and employment records.

Medical evidence created after the date last insured remains potentially relevant when it helps establish the severity or duration of an earlier impairment.

Being Unable to Perform One Job Is Not Enough

Social Security evaluates disability through a five-step process addressing employment activity, medical severity, listed impairments, previous employment, and other available work.

Under 20 CFR Section 404.1509, a qualifying impairment generally must last, or be expected to last, at least 12 continuous months unless death is expected.

For 2026, the SSA’s substantial gainful activity threshold is generally $1,690 monthly for nonblind individuals. Earnings above this amount ordinarily affect eligibility, subject to specific exceptions.

An applicant’s inability to return to a physically demanding occupation does not automatically establish an inability to perform other substantial work. Age, education, employment history, and documented limitations influence the determination.

Application Dates Affect Retroactive Payments

The date someone files an SSDI application influences the benefits potentially available. According to the Social Security Administration, qualifying applicants generally receive a maximum of 12 months of retroactive benefits before their application date.

SSDI also ordinarily includes a five-full-month waiting period before benefits become payable, with specified exceptions.

Establishing an earlier disability onset date does not guarantee payment for every month since employment ended. The waiting period, application date, and disability insurance requirements determine when entitlement begins.

SSI Has Different Financial Eligibility Requirements

Applicants who lack sufficient SSDI work credits sometimes qualify for Supplemental Security Income (SSI). Unlike SSDI, SSI does not require a qualifying history of employment covered by Social Security.

Instead, the SSI program evaluates disability or age alongside financial eligibility, including income and resources. Citizenship or qualifying immigration status and other program requirements also apply.

SSDI and SSI are separate federal benefit programs with different nonmedical eligibility rules. Losing insured status for SSDI does not independently establish eligibility for SSI.

Disability Appeals Have Strict Filing Deadlines

When Social Security denies an application, the decision notice identifies the reason for denial and explains available appeal procedures. Claimants generally have 60 days after receiving the decision to request reconsideration.

The SSA’s reconsideration procedure permits review of medical and nonmedical determinations. Late appeals require an extension supported by good cause.

The Law Brigade’s overview of Social Security disability timelines provides additional context concerning reconsideration, administrative hearings, and subsequent appeals.

An appeal involving expired insured status requires particular attention to evidence establishing disability during the covered period. Additional medical documentation concerning a later deterioration might not resolve the original eligibility problem.

The decisive issue in many Greenville SSDI disputes is not whether the applicant currently experiences a serious medical condition. It is whether the evidence establishes a qualifying disability while the applicant still satisfied Social Security’s insurance requirements.

This article provides general legal information and is not individualized legal advice.